India Invites Eight Countries For Modi’s Swearing-in, Leaves Pakistan Aside

After the historic win in Lok-Sabha elections, Modi’s swearing-in ceremony is scheduled for May 30. For this grand ceremony India has sent invitation cards to eight countrires.

Countries including Nepal, Bhutan, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Thailand, and Sri Lanka – Kyrgyzstan (as chairman of the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation) and Mauritius to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Narendra Modi for his second term as prime minister. However, no invitation has been sent to Pakistan.

The announcement was made on 27 May before the May 30 ceremony, with MEA spokesperson Raveesh Kumar saying the invitations were “in line with the government’s focus on its ‘Neighbourhood First’ policy”.

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan did have a Phone conversation with Modi on Sunday to convey his congratulations, but it doesn’t seem to have made any impact on the relationship.

The relationship between the two countries had worsened after the Pulwama attack and Balakot airstrikes.

Pakistan Prime minister Imran Khan took some brave steps like of release of Abhinandan so that the relationship with India could better but it doesn’t seem to have changed the mood of Modi government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *